Banner Exchange Advertising 101

The one good thing you can say about banner exchanges is that they\’re a legit form of advertising. Lets face it, all over the Internet on just about every site you see, there\’s a banner. If you click on it, you\’ll be taken to the person\’s web site.

And therein lies the first problem with banners.

Unless the banner actually says the words “click here” or something like that, not everybody is going to know that this banner is anything more than a picture.

Again, you have to put yourself into the shoes of the average Internet surfer. Not everybody is computer savvy. Not everyone knows that a banner is meant to be clicked on. Some people will absolutely look at the above banner and think it is nothing more than decoration.

So, if you are going to do a banner exchange with another site, the first thing you want to do is create a banner that clearly tells people that they have to click on it in order to get the great offer that the banner has for them.

Another thing you have to understand about banners is that they are like newspaper headlines. They have to attract somebody\’s attention RIGHT AWAY. Take the above banner. It clearly says “2 hours daily = $500 monthly income.” Granted, it doesn\’t say to click here, but that can be added in small print underneath. Other than that, this is an EXCELLENT banner if somebody is looking to make money online.

Not only do you want your banners to get right to the point, but you want to make sure that they appear on sites where people are going to see it and have a pretty good chance of being interested in it. This means you want to do your banner exchanges with sites that are similar to yours.

And therein lies the problem. It\’s called human greed.

Conquering the problem of appealing to the site\’s visitor is one thing and not that hard. But conquering the problem of the greedy site owner who ONLY wants to do a banner exchange with somebody who can “do something for him” is a monumental task. If you\’re first starting out, most likely your site doesn\’t have a very high ranking with the search engines. If that\’s the case, then getting a site that is higher ranked to do a banner exchange with you is quite unlikely. Think about it. What is in it for HIM? On the other side of the coin, doing a banner exchange with a site lower ranked than yours isn\’t going to do YOU much good.

So what you need to do is find sites that are closely ranked to yours. And this takes a lot of doing. If it\’s a large niche market then you might actually find quite a few. But if you\’re marketing something that isn\’t that popular, finding sites in general is going to be tough. Finding any that are in the same league as yours is close to impossible.

However, if you\’re fortunate enough to get yourself a banner exchange, what you want to do is agree to what they call a rotating exchange.

Let me explain.

You want to link to a number of sites. But the problem with doing this is that banners are big, not like links. Just a few banners can easily fill up a web page. So what you want to do is plug in a little JavaScript into your site that will rotate all the banners that you\’ve done exchanges with. Please make sure you tell the site that you\’re using a rotating exchange. Also tell them that it\’s okay if they do the same. In most cases they probably won\’t bother and your banner will be displayed on their banners page round the clock. Of course the problem with this is that most people don\’t go to banner pages. So the chances of your banner being seen, even if it is up all the time, is less than the chances of the banner you\’re rotating on your main page being seen. Kind of ironic, wouldn\’t you say?

Just goes to show you. Sometimes, less is more.

Banner exchanges back in the good old days used to be very effective because they were new and the banners were actually quite interesting. But, as with everything else, over time banners have become something that most people pay no attention to unless they come out screaming at them.

However, as marketers have gotten smarter, so has banner placement.

Back in those good old days, banners were always placed at the top or bottom of a web page. But now, marketers are getting smart. They\’re starting to place their banners in the middle of articles. This way, a reader has to see the banner. They still may not click on it, but they\’ll see it and it will be in their mind at least for a while. Plus, today, banners are coming in all shapes and sizes.

Yes, we are getting smarter. But overall, banner advertising still isn\’t going to get you a ton of traffic. You may get a few hits here and there, but it\’s not something to be counted on. Again, this is just my opinion and you may want to test banner exchanges out for yourself and see how well you do.

Jake Riley operates an internet Marketing review center available at http://www.GurusLab.com - The site was designed to offer uncensored reviews of all the latest product launches, WSO\’s, marketing services and products from new marketers and seasoned pros.

10 Ways to Advertise Your Business

If you have a work at home business that you run over the internet with a website you will need to get the word out and attract people to your site. There are several ways to do this. Just remember to have a budget and stick to it. Make a plan and do something every day to advertise your work at home business. It is a competitive world out there so try to be unique and original.

Your advertising needs to pop out at people to get their attention. If they’ve seen it a hundred times, they’re not going to pay attention to yours. Make your potential customers want to see what you have to offer and want to keep coming back for more. It can be challenging and hard work, but in the end it will all be worth it when your business is a success.

These are some of the things you can do to advertise your work at home business. Advertising both online and offline can bring customers to your business. Here are some ideas.

Make a unique and exciting web page. If you are working online, this will be the heart and soul of your business. Make it as interesting as possible. You want potential customers to want to stay and read all the information you have to offer and buy your products.

Write original articles and submit them to article directories. Use your website in your resource box and people will visit your website if the article intrigues them enough.

Submit your website to link directories. The more exposure and back links to your site you can get, the better. Find link directories that are popular and have lots of traffic and you’ll have visitors in no time.

Place online and offline classifieds. Find classified sites, there are paid and free, and submit eye catching ads. Make the title pop so people will instantly be drawn to it.

Hand out flyers with your website address on them. Make flyers with a slogan or picture that will make people stop and look at it. Don’t be afraid to use some color.

Get some business cards made up with your website address on them. Hand these out whenever you get a chance. You can add color to these also.

Make use of the many traffic exchanges on the internet. Find as many as you can and pick the ones that interest you. Use as many as you’re comfortable with because you’ll have to surf and click for an hour or so a day to earn views to your site.

Post in forums. Giving people advise on the things you know is building a reputation for you and putting a signature with your name and website address may send people to your site. It’s also a great place to learn from others that are doing the same or similar business as you are.

Tell everyone you know about your business and before you know it they will tell others. It’s like a chain reaction, word of mouth can be powerful.

Make a capture page. Sometimes they are called squeeze pages or splash pages. Make it short and to the point to grab the attention of the person reading it. They will put their name and email in the opt in form and become a subscriber in your list. You can send them your offers for as long as they are a subscriber.

Tara Martindale specializes in helping people find the best work at home business opportunities available.

Visit Tara’s Work at Home Business Opportunities site for details.

The Most Popular Types Of Online Advertising

As is the case with any kind of advertising, online advertising aids you in:

  • Selling more of your product/service
  • Notifying buyers of your new product/service, or promotional offer
  • Spreading your ideas about a certain topic
  • To increase brand awareness

And unlike any other form of advertising, online advertising is highly measurable. There are several ways through which you can measure ad success such as click-through rate, page impressions, cost per sale, etc.

For online advertising you will usually need to buy space in the high-traffic websites, to post your ad. You can also do ad-exchange with some websites. This article talks about some of the most popular types of online advertising.

Banner Ads

Banner advertising was the first kind of advertising ever done on the net. A banner can highlight your product/service/offer and by clicking on it the user will be taken to your website, where you can create a suitable landing page to provide his further information. Banner spaces are usually sold by impressions, or banner views, but it is sometimes sold by click-thru, when you pay only when the user clicks on the banner.

To post a banner ad, you can do either or all of the following:

  • Banner exchange where another website displays your ad in exchange of you displaying for them
  • Pay publisher sites to post your banner
  • Pay a banner network to post the banner ad on a number of publisher sites

Pop-up Ads

It’s the thing of the past now. With a variety of pop-up blockers available freely, it makes no sense in investing in this form of advertising as it irritates the viewer.

Floating Ads

These ads appear when you first go to a webpage, and they "float" over the page for five to 30 seconds. While they are on the screen, they obscure your view of the page you are trying to read, and they often block mouse input as well. These ads appear each time that page is refreshed.

Floating ads are popular for several reasons:

  • They grab the viewer’s attention and cannot be ignored
  • They are animated
  • They have audio/video content like TV ads
  • They can take up the entire screen, therefore from a branding standpoint, they are much more powerful than a banner ad or a sidebar ad
  • They have a high click-through rate of about 3 percent

However, many users get highly irritated because of these ads.

Interstitial Ads

Interstitial pages are a form of advertisement on the web that appears between web pages that the user requests. Because interstitials load in the background, they are a preferred way of delivering ads that contain large graphics, streaming media, or applets.

Unicast Ads

A unicast ad is basically a TV commercial that runs in the browser window. It has enriched audio/video content. The ads can last anywhere from 10 to 30 seconds. These ads have similar branding power as a TV commercial. However, a unicast ad offers something that TV ads cannot — the ability to click on the ad for more information. These ads are getting very effective, as the average click-through rate is 5%.

Takeover Ads

Viewers visiting the website will see a large ad when they first come, and then the continuity is maintained by reiterating the same message throughout the site in the form of banners, side bars or buttons. The approach works very well for branding because the brand is visible to viewers throughout the visit to the site. Click-through rates are also high.

Contextual Ads

Contextual advertising is a type of online advertising commonly used for content-based websites. With contextual advertising, targeted ads appear based on the page’s actual content. First, a contextual advertising system scans the text of a webpage for keyword phrases. Then, the system returns specific, targeted ads based on the content people are viewing. This is becoming very popular as the ads can be targeted based on the users’ interests.

There are many other ways in which you can advertise like embedding your ad/brand in online games, chat rooms, etc. Rich media interactive ads can also be creatively used in a lot of different ways. Once you get started - you’ll be able to explore great opportunities in this area.

Do Right Marketing offers freelance content writing services. These include writing for the web, intranet, marketing and sales collateral such as case studies, newsletters, whitepapers, articles, blog posts, website navigation, editing, and proofreading, etc. Visit: http://www.dorightmarketing.com to know more.

5 Proven Ways To Maximize Your AdSense Earnings

I have a little secret that I’m going to tell you. Well, if you don’t wanna know and if you don’t want to earn thousands on Google AdSense, just close this window. It’s up to you, this maybe your last opportunity to see this article.

Actually this article is mostly paid and sold by internet marketers. Don’t buy those! Just read this and I’ll tell you what all of those money wasting e-books got.

So? Ready to know those secrets? Ok, here they are:

But remember to put all the things you have read to action because no action = no moolah! So, follow it and make money online!

Low ctr?

well, if you have a blog and is getting a ctr like 2%, you have a big problem! I mean, your loosing extra income! If you get $100 on that 2% then why make it 10% so you can earn $500?!

Well, if you don’t know how… I’ll teach you.

Ad placement

First, put your ads above the fold – ads above the fold are seen more likely and can get more attention.

The bigger the better! – big ads like the 336 x 280 rectangle have higher chance of being clicked due to the fact that it is easy to read and is easy to be seen. But don’t push it if it doesn’t blend with your template.

Relevance

“Relevance is the key” they say. But how? There are many ways you could get relevant ads. You could try section targeting or building great and relevant content.

But don’t spam your keywords! Google hates it. Try putting only 2-4% of your keywords per article.

Removing the mfa (made for adsense) sites

mfa sites are those low paying advertisers. That could give you only $0.01 per click! Hate those! Mfa sites looks like these ads:

Top 10 sites for ….

Don’t go anywhere cause

We have found the top 10…

Blablabla10.Com

We have to remove those! No worries, Google allows publishers to block those stinking ads! By using url filters. You could get the lists of mfa sites in adsblacklist.

So, that’s it! Have fun earning more! ;-)

Carl Ocab is a 14-year old Internet Marketer, and he is giving away a FREE report on his blog Make Money Online go there and get it now! He also gives guidelines on Internet Home Business

Internet Banner Advertising Secrets

When the internet started banner advertising was one of
the most popular ways to advertise. However, once this kind
of advertising became popular it dramatically reduced its
effect. People became blind towards it and click through
rates become as low as 0.5%. However many of the top
internet marketers still use banner advertising as one of
their top producing strategies. You will reap the rewards
with internet banner advertising once you know how to apply
the correct marketing strategies.

One of the challenging aspects of banner advertising is to
get people to actually click on your banner. With all the
banners looking like adverts people have become oblivious
to this. You need to make your banner not look like an
advert. Make the background white because this makes it
blend in and look like content. Then use blue text to
denote the advertisement. People are conditioned by using
the internet to associate blue with a hyperlink and this
will make them click on it. Use a good attention grabbing
headline for example “How To Lose 30 Pounds In 20 Days”.

Once you have created your banner you need to find good
places on the internet to advertise. I suggest you look for
websites related to yours and you contact the owners
directly. Use your negotiating skills and try to lower the
advertising rate that a website owner may want until you
are satisfied that you have a good deal. Also try to get at
least a month or a week’s trial to test the effectiveness of
the internet banner advertising before you enter into a
long term contract.

You need to create an appropriate landing page for your
banner advertisement. This could be in the form of a
squeeze page. I would strongly suggest that you do not send
your visitor to a sales page as a visitor usually needs to
see your offer at least 7 times before they will consider
buying.

Follow these internet banner advertising tips and you will
find that you can produce substantially more traffic to
your website and increase your profits.

Would you like to know more about the traffic techniques have helped me to drive thousands of visitors to my website? I have just completed my new guide.

Download it free here: Secrets Of Internet Marketing

Mark Abrahams is a full time internet marketer who has helped others to earn a living online.

Banner Ads 24-7

Hi Everyone,

Have you ever seen a banner ad?

Banner ads appear in various places on all kinds of websites, and
their main purpose is to advertise an opportunity or service.

When you click on the image of a banner ad, you will be taken
to a website. The shape of a banner ad is also varied, from
a long horizontal rectangle to even a square-shaped block.

Basically, banner ads are a kind of “passive advertising”, which
means that they are not the main content of the webpage, but
are similar to text ads that one sees on search engine results.
In general, banner ads are related to the content of the particular
website or page that they are on. In fact, the more relevant to
the particular website, the more effective a banner ad will be.

Banner ads can be placed anywhere on a website, and there are
even special programs and services dedicated to banner
advertising called banner rotators. All in all, using a banner ad
can be a very effective method of advertising and a great addition
to a comprehensive marketing campaign.

A great benefit to banner advertising is the fact that it is
passive, 24/7 and inexpensive. Get your banner on a high-traffic
website and you have a perfect vehicle for promotion that never
sleeps!

For more information on how you can get your own banner ads
working for you, as well as a complete, professional marketing
program, visit Traffic Wave and get your complimentary 30-day
Trial now.

Happy Marketing!

Robert Choi

Wealth Vision 2020

Traffic Wave: All-In-One marketing system
http://trafficwave.net/members/wealthvision

Wealth Vision 2020 Home Business Blog
http://wealthvision2020.blogspot.com

Beginning And Improving Your Adsense Income

AdSense is a monetization revolution for small content publishers. AdSense is an ad serving program run by Google. Webmasters can enroll in this program to enable advertisements on their sites. These ads are administered by Google and generate revenue on either a per-click or per-thousand-impressions basis. Google is also currently beta-testing a cost-per-action based service.” appears on the Wikipedia definition.

Google’s Adsense program can generate for your website some money that can range from a few dollars to some hundred dollars a day (about 500$/day)….

Why Should you use AdSense?
Here are some reasons for you to consider about google adsense program:

- It’s free to sign up for google Adsense. It’s free to use.
- Whenever you have more than $100 in your Adsense account, Google mails you a check at the end of the month.
- You can change the colours of the adsense ads displayed.
- Ads can be delivered in many languages. Google AdSense figures out your webpage’s language and displays ads in that language.
- You can have up to three ad blocks on one page.

You can maximize your revenue potential by displaying Google ads on your website. Google puts relevant cost-per-click and cost per thousand impressions ads through the same auction, and lets them compete against one another. The auction takes place instantaneously, and, when it’s over, AdSense automatically displays the text or image ads that will generate the maximum revenue for a page — and the maximum revenue for your website !

Many of these strategies will increase a sites’ general revenue as well:

The first step is to design a site around the top searches. Then the second step is to get a list of the highest paying keywords. Lists of these can be found simply by searching the internet. Of course combining the highest paying adsense keywords with Top Searches may make a very strange mix. Afterall, the top search (at the time of this writing) is Britney Spears while the top-paying words relate to mesothelioma and asbestos cancer.
And finaly choose the right AdSense Formats .

Wider formats are successful because the ads are compact, easy to read and are complementary to the content. The top three AdSense formats are: 336×280 large rectangle 300×250 medium rectangle 160×600 wide skyscraper Another successful format is the 468×15 horizontal ad links, that can be placed under your navigation bar.

Born in Morocco, and studying in Paris, TLEMCANI Hamza is a student on The High School of Computer Science of Paris (SUPINFO Paris). White Hat Hacker, occasional redactor on computer science websites, and also webmaster of many websites, TLEMCANI Hamza is well known on the wild world web.
Check his blog for further information : http://www.tlemcani.net .

Banner Economics

Business online, like business offline, always boils down to math: the difference between cost and revenue. If your banner campaign is costing more than it’s earning, you won’t be in business for very long. To figure out how your campaign is doing, you’re going to need to know your Cost Per Mille, your Click Through Rate and your Conversion Rate. These are your basic tools. If you don’t know them, find out!

Let’s say your CPM is $20, your CTR is 1%, and your Conversion Rate is 4%. (So you’re paying $20 every 1,000 times your banner is shown, it brings you 10 new users, and you make one sale for every 25 users the ad brings). The question you need to ask yourself is how much are you wasting on the 24 users who don’t buy.

Cost per visitor = $20 / 10 = $2 So each visitor costs you $2, but you need 25 visitors to make one sale, so…

Cost per sale = $2 * 25 = $50 …if your product is worth less than $50, you’re making a loss.

That’s pretty simple, and as you can see, there’s not a lot of room to maneuver here. Margins are tight on banner advertising and that applies to both the site selling the advertising space and the webmaster buying it.

Of course, hard cash isn’t the only way to measure the success of a banner ad, and one reason they’re still popular is that they’re a pretty effective branding tool. After all, advertisers spend millions on billboards without expecting motorists to drive straight through them and make a purchase! On the Web, those advertisers can even be reasonably sure that the people who see their ads will be interested in them. But branding costs money—lots of it—with no guarantee of results. It’s usually best left to the big boys.

The banner ads on my sites usually send users to my affiliate partners, and the banner ads I place on other people’s sites usually come from my affiliate programs. They don’t cost me anything and as long I’m making the sales to pay my affiliate partners, everybody’s happy.

If you do decide to purchase banner advertisements though, and if you have a very specific market in mind, make sure they are strategically placed—on sites where the traffic will most definitely be interested in your product or service. Find a site that suits exactly your specific product and you’re going to be appealing directly to your target market.

Tim Yu is the owner of http://www.Online2Biz.com providing information on Creating Your Own Business Online. To get Free “Internet Marketing Guide” & “49 Ways To Find A Profitable Niche Market Instantly!” course, go to http://www.Online2Biz.com

Banner Glossary

• Banner Ad — A graphic ad linked to an advertiser’s website. These usually run across the top of the page but can also run up the page (“skyscrapers”). Banners are usually limited by size.

• Banner Views —The number of times a banner is seen by users. This is usually the same as “page views,” but counts the number of times the banner is actually downloaded rather than the number of times the page is downloaded. Some users click away before the banner finishes loading.

• Clicks/ Click Throughs — Banners are operated by clicking the cursor over them. Not too surprisingly these responses are called “clicks” or “click throughs.”

• Click Through Rate (CTR) — The percentage of users who see the banner and click on it.

• Conversion Rate —The percentage of people who visit your site and actually give you money. The higher the better!

• Cookies — Small files placed on a user’s computer. They’re used for all sorts of reasons and by all sorts of sites. Banner ads use them to make sure the user hasn’t seen the banner recently, which banner brought them to the advertiser’s site, and even which adverts they’ve seen recently.

• CPM — “Cost Per Mille.” The amount you pay for every thousand times a banner is shown—the usual way of charging for banners.

• Hits — The number of times a server receives a request for a Web page or an image. Not a great way to measure interest. One page can have lots of images and get lots of hits, even if it’s only seen once. Often, people will say “hits” when they really mean “page views” or “impressions.”

• Page Impressions or Page Views —The number of times a Web page has been requested by the server. Much more accurate than hits: each view is a potential customer looking at a page of your site. But not necessarily a different customer…

• Unique Users — The people who download a Web page, counted by IP address. You want to bring lots of users to your site so that you can create a broad customer base. The same user clicking on a banner a dozen times could cost you money without increasing your sales. Most reputable sites will check the IP address of the person clicking on a link and only count it once in a 24-hour period. If a site doesn’t do this, don’t advertise with them.

Tim Yu is the owner of http://www.Online2Biz.com providing information on Creating Your Own Business Online. To get Free “Internet Marketing Guide” & “49 Ways To Find A Profitable Niche Market Instantly!” course, go to http://www.Online2Biz.com